About Eco-Sud

The actions of Eco-Sud concentrate particularly in the south of the island, our office is based in Blue Bay, where we began.

However, our field of action extends beyond this region, thanks to various collaborations and partnerships across the country.

The NGO's modus operandi is based on the strength of collective action. Our various projects are the result of thoughts and needs identified with the local community.


The Blue Lagoon Team

Jean-Pierre de Falbaire

Blue Lagoon committee chairman

Jean-Pierre grew up in Pointe D’Esny (Mauritius) and spent 15 years in Zimbabwe. During his first years in Africa, he worked as a bush pilot and he was marked by how well the national parks there were preserved. Back to Mauritius, and inspired by what he observed there, he wanted to get involved in the protection of natural resources in his country. The Blue Lagoon programme was created with the aim to preserve the Pointe D’Esny lagoon.

Doris Sénèque

Secretary
Member of the Blue Lagoon committee

Doris was one of the leaders of the group of inhabitants who set up the measures to protect the Blue Bay marine park in 1999. She also is one of the founding members of Eco-Sud and seats as the NGO secretary since its creation till now on.

Sébastien Sauvage

Communication and advocacy manager of Eco-Sud
Member of the Blue Lagoon committee

Sébastien is involved in Eco-Sud activities since the first steps of the NGO. He also held the role of the association’s vice-president from 2009 to 2018. He also is a committed citizen who cares a lot about the well being of his country and of its inhabitants.

Pramod Kumar Chumun (Shashi)

Blue Lagoon project director

Shashi joined the team in 2017. He has a PhD in Environment and Energy Systems delivered by the university of Shizuoka in Japan. He is specialized on the impacts of anthropic stress linked to climate change on the corals’ physiology. He is currently supervising the projects from the Blue Lagoon programme.

Sydney Perrine

Project coordinator

Sydney joined the Blue Lagoon programme in 2015. In the past, he worked for different NGOs (for instance the SHOALS Rodrigues during 14 years and the Reef Conservation in Mauritius). He is a certified PADI Divemaster and uses his experience and knowledge to rally the community through our awareness and educational programme. He also participates thoroughly to the fishes and corals species control in the Blue Bay lagoon.

Hanista Jhumun

Head of administration

Hanista obtained her BSc (Hons) in Marine Science and Technology from the University of Mauritius in 2015. She did an internship, from January 2016 to June 2017, within the scope of the Youth Employment Programme at the Albion Fisheries Research Center and Fishing Training and Extension Center. She afterwards joined the Blue Lagoon team in 2017 and currently works on projects linked to marine preservation, awareness and education.

Vasisht Seetapah

Project coordinator/ Marine guide trainer

Vasisht holds a BSc in Marine & Freshwater Sciences and Conservation Biology from the university Edith Cowan in Australia. He first joined the Blue Lagoon project as an intern, before being recruited as marine guide trainer in January 2018. Today, Vasisht trains and raises awareness among the different actors of the Grand Port lagoon, particularly those linked to the tourism industry in the marine environment.

Alasdair Harris, PhD

Technical advisor

Alasdair spent a long time looking at issues regarding the marine conservation in the Indian Ocean and expressed his will to contribute to the project. He is a member of the World Commission on Protected Areas. He won the IUCN World Conservation Union's Young Conservationist Award in 2010 and is the laureate of the Condé Nast Environment Award in 2009. He is currently based in Madagascar.

The Blue Lagoon Team Contributors

  • Andrew Fletcher

    Lagoon Monitoring Manager
    September 2012-January 2013
  • Anthony de Kroon

    Project Manager
    September 2012- January 2013
  • Dennis Van der Burgh

    Project Manager
    February 2013- June 2013
  • Karin Lampe

    Project Manager
    September 2012- January 2013
  • Martijn Groenbroek

    Project Manager
    February 2013- June 2013
  • Paul Berends

    Project Manager
    September 2012- January 2013
  • Rosan Koops

    Project Manager
    September 2013- January 2014
  • Dirk-jan Smelt

    Project Manager
    September 2013- January 2014
  • Emma Montocchio

    Volunteer Programme Assistant
    September 2013- January 2014
  • Gilles Van Leeuwen

    Project Manager
    February 2014- June 2014
  • Anna Schmieg

    Project Manager
    July 2014- November 2014
  • Sophie Bellin

    Project Manager
    August 2015- February 2016
  • Aaron Critchley

    Project Manager
    August 2015- February 2016
  • Rachael Perkins

    Project Manager
    August 2015- February 2016
  • Rachele Sauvage

    Project Manager
    August 2015- February 2016

Eco-Sud Committee

2019

Chairman: Alain de Falbaire
Vice-President: Rachèle Bhoyroo
Treasurer: Hervé Sénèque
Vice-Treasurer: Danièle Sauvage
Secretary: Doris Sénèque
Vice-Secretary: Pierre Sénèque

2018

Chairman: Alain de Falbaire
Vice-Chairman: Sébastien Sauvage
Treasurer: Hervé Sénèque
Vice-Treasurer: Julia Maigrot
Secretary: Doris Sénèque
Vice-Secretary: Pierre Sénèque

Our Values

About

Dialogue

The members of Eco-Sud are committed and passionate activists who always favour dialogue to strive for the protection of the environment and biodiversity of Mauritius.
About

Responsibility

For Eco-Sud, the environment is a common heritage of humanity, implying that each person has a responsibility to undertake, especially to repair the damages that have been caused as a result of human activity.
About

Collective strength

We believe it’s necessary to encourage a collective force, by including all stakeholders, especially vulnerable populations, so that we can benefit from the contributions of everyone to take action.
About

Scientific Expertise

Eco-Sud is constantly seeking the advice and input of international experts in order to support the struggle with backing from scientific data and facts. Our Blue Lagoon programme is based on scientific research.
About

Transparency

Thanks to our complete transparency regarding the way we operate and our commitments, Eco-Sud has been able to mobilize the local and civil society in the fight to protect the environment.

A propos

Les actions d’Eco-Sud se concentrent plus particulièrement sur le sud-est de l’île Maurice, nos bureaux sont d’ailleurs installés à Blue Bay, là où tout a commencé.

Cependant, notre champ d’action s’étend au-delà de cette région, grâce à différents collaborations et partenariats à travers le pays.

Le modus operandi de l’ONG est basé sur la force des actions collectives et nos divers projets sont issus de réflexions et de besoins identifiés avec la communauté locale.


L’équipe de Lagon Bleu

Jean-Pierre de Falbaire

Président du comité Lagon Bleu

Jean-Pierre a grandi à Pointe d’Esny (île Maurice) et a passé 15 ans au Zimbabwe. Durant ses premières années en Afrique, il a opéré comme pilote de brousse et a été marqué par la qualité de conservation des parcs nationaux. De retour à Maurice, inspiré par ce qu’il avait observé, il a voulu s’impliquer dans la protection des ressources naturelles de son pays. Le programme Lagon Bleu a été créé dans le but de préserver le lagon de Pointe d’Esny.

Doris Sénèque

Secrétaire de l'association
Membre du comité Lagon Bleu

Doris faisait partie des leaders du groupe d’habitants qui a enclenché les mesures pour protéger le parc marin de Blue Bay en 1999. Elle est également membre fondateur d’Eco-Sud et occupe le poste de secrétaire de l’ONG depuis sa création jusqu’à ce jour.

Sébastien Sauvage

Responsable communication et plaidoyer d'Eco-Sud
Membre du comité Lagon Bleu

Sébastien est impliqué dans la vie d’Eco-Sud depuis les débuts de l’ONG. Il a occupé le rôle de vice-président de l'association de 2009 à 2018 et il est un citoyen engagé qui porte un grand intérêt au bien-être de son pays et de ses habitants.

Pramod Kumar Chumun (Shashi)

Directeur de projet de Lagon Bleu

Shashi a rejoint l'équipe de Lagon Bleu en 2017. Il est titulaire d'un doctorat en Environment and Energy Systems de l'université de Shizuoka au Japon et s’est spécialisé sur les impacts des stress anthropiques et liés au changement climatique sur la physiologie des coraux. Il supervise actuellement les projets du programme Lagon Bleu.

Sydney Perrine

Coordinateur de projet

Sydney a rejoint le programme Lagon Bleu en novembre 2015. Dans le passé, il a travaillé pour différentes ONG, notamment SHOALS Rodrigues pendant 14 ans et Reef Conservation à Maurice. Il est certifié Divemaster PADI et utilise son expérience et ses connaissances pour mobiliser la communauté, via notre programme de sensibilisation et d’éducation. Il participe également activement au contrôle des espèces de poissons et de coraux dans le lagon de Blue Bay.

Hanista Jhumun

Responsable de l’administration

Hanista a obtenu son BSc (Hons) Marine Science and Technology à l'université de Maurice en 2015. Elle a effectué un stage de janvier 2016 à juin 2017, dans le cadre du Youth Employment Programme, aux Albion Fisheries Research Center et Fishing Training and Extension Center. Elle a ensuite rejoint l'équipe de Lagon Bleu en 2017 et travaille actuellement sur des projets liés à la conservation marine, la sensibilisation et l'éducation.

Vasisht Seetapah

Coordinateur de projet / Formateur de guides marins

Vasisht est titulaire d'un BSc in Marine & Freshwater Sciences and Conservation Biology de l'université Edith Cowan, en Australie. Il a d'abord rejoint le projet Lagon Bleu en tant que stagiaire avant d'être recruté en tant que formateur de guides marins en janvier 2018. Aujourd’hui, Vasisht forme et sensibilise les différents acteurs du lagon de Grand Port, en particulier ceux liés à l'industrie du tourisme dans l'environnement marin.

Alasdair Harris, PhD

Conseiller technique

Alasdair a passé une grande partie de son temps à se pencher sur des problématiques de conservation marine dans l’océan Indien et il a exprimé sa volonté de contribuer au projet. Il est membre de la World Commission on Protected Areas, récipiendaire du IUCN World Conservation Union's Young Conservationist Award 2010 et lauréat du Condé Nast Environment Award 2009. Il est actuellement basé à Madagascar.

Contributeurs

  • Andrew Fletcher

    Lagoon Monitoring Manager
    septembre 2012 - janvier 2013
  • Anthony de Kroon

    Project Manager
    septembre 2012 - janvier 2013
  • Dennis Van der Burgh

    Project Manager
    février 2013 - juin 2013
  • Karin Lampe

    Project Manager
    septembre 2012 - janvier 2013
  • Martijn Groenbroek

    Project Manager
    février 2013 - juin 2013
  • Paul Berends

    Project Manager
    septembre 2012 - janvier 2013
  • Rosan Koops

    Project Manager
    septembre 2013 - janvier 2014
  • Dirk-jan Smelt

    Project Manager
    septembre 2013 - janvier 2014
  • Emma Montocchio

    Volunteer Programme Assistant
    septembre 2013 - janvier 2014
  • Gilles Van Leeuwen

    Project Manager
    février 2014 - juin 2014
  • Anna Schmieg

    Project Manager
    juillet 2014 - novembre 2014
  • Sophie Bellin

    Project Manager
    août 2015 - février 2016
  • Aaron Critchley

    Project Manager
    août 2015 - février 2016
  • Rachael Perkins

    Project Manager
    août 2015 - février 2016
  • Rachele Sauvage

    Project Manager
    août 2015 - février 2016

Le comité d’Eco-Sud

2019

Président : Alain de Falbaire
Vice-Présidente : Rachèle Bhoyroo
Trésorier : Hervé Sénèque
Vice-trésorière : Danièle Sauvage
Secrétaire : Doris Sénèque
Vice-Secrétaire : Pierre Sénèque

2018

Président : Alain de Falbaire
Vice-Président : Sébastien Sauvage
Trésorier : Hervé Sénèque
Vice-trésorière : Julia Maigrot
Secrétaire : Doris Sénèque
Vice-Secrétaire : Pierre Sénèque

Nos valeurs

Le dialogue

Les membres d’Eco-Sud sont des militants écologistes engagés et passionnés qui privilégient toujours le dialogue afin de mener à bien leurs combats pour la protection de l’environnement et la biodiversité de l’île Maurice.

La responsabilisation

Pour Eco-Sud, l’environnement est un patrimoine commun de l’humanité et cela sous-tend que chacun a une responsabilité à son égard, notamment celle de réparer les dommages qui ont été causés.

La force collective

Nous pensons qu’il est nécessaire de favoriser la réflexion collective en incluant toutes les parties prenantes, et surtout les populations vulnérables, afin de bénéficier de l’apport de tout un chacun dans nos actions.

L’expertise scientifique

Eco-Sud recherche constamment l’avis et l’apport d’experts internationaux afin de soutenir ses combats avec des données et faits scientifiques. Notre programme Lagon Bleu, lui, est basé sur la recherche scientifique.

La transparence

Grâce à notre complète transparence par rapport à nos prises de position, nos engagements et notre fonctionnement, Eco-Sud arrive à mobiliser la société civile dans sa lutte pour la protection de l’environnement.